Reviews for Dwight Soares

Dwight-193x194

I am Dwight Soares. My family’s involvement in the tourism industry spans three generation. I got into the business of conducting tours only in September 2000. However, I take delight in showing visitors the beauty of Jamaica…I especially like to see the satisfied look on my guests face after a tour. I get a feeling of satisfaction knowing that I gave them a good memorable experience in Jamaica!

We took your blue hole excursion with Dwight we had a great time Dwight was awesome he took care of all our needs and we really appreciate the time he took with our family We will definitely be back and of course we will book our excursions will your company thank you again and please thank Dwight again from all of us

John
April 15, 2017
They were all wonderful! The bus driver was funny and informative. The tour guides were amazing at the falls. Helping the little ones and not so little ones keep from getting hurt! I honestly don’t know how they did it.
The river cruise was relaxing and the guides sang fun songs!
Thanks so much, we would definitely do it again and refer our friends!

Kendra B
March 29, 2017
We want to thank you for such an enjoyable day in Ocho Rios on February 14, 2017! We didn’t realize when we booked our tour that we would have a private car and driver for just our family of four. It was an amazing day! You made us feel like family from the very beginning and went above and beyond to meet our every request. We saw Fern Gully, drove to the Ocho Rios lookout and climbed Dunn River Falls. This port of call was even better than we had expected. Thanks for taking us to the Jerk Centre for some Jerk Chicken and Festival. If we are ever back in Jamaica again, we will definitely request to have you as our guide. You made our Jamaica experience even more special! I would highly recommend friends to hire you and your company for any Ocho Rios excursions!
Sincerely!

Dwight
February 14, 2017
We went on the river tubing tour in Jamaica. Very nice tour, great tour guy and loved our guy who drove us. He took the time to show us around Jamaica a little bit, very personable and knew a lot. Very enjoyable excursion

Michelle G
February 1, 2017
Hi Dwight
The snorkel excursion exceeded our expectation. Nice that it was right beside the pier. Our captain took us to a couple of reefs, and we saw so many different fish species, coral, eels, stingrays. Amazing! We appreciated the additional time granted as well. It was hard to stop snorkelling and head back to the pier.
Thanks again for the adventure! We would certainly recommend Excursions in Jamaica to friends and family.

Monica
February 24, 2016
We had an amazing time! Our guide was fun, nice and accommodating. We had a lot of fun on this excursion and have already recommended it to friends that will be on the island this summer. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Kissie G
February 16, 2016
We had an amazing time! Our guide was fun, nice and accommodating. We had a lot of fun on this excursion and have already recommended it to friends that will be on the island this summer. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Client
February 8, 2016
Hello Dwight
Thank you for the tour… I think it was you that drive us… the tour was great I cannot fault a thing… I liked the flexibilty you gave us when u took us to get jerk chicken at the bar. The tubing was great, falls were great, you were very informative… I would definitely use you again if we come to Jamaica … Jamaica was our favorite island on our cruise we loved it and would like return to stay for a week or so next time when we have saved our money… hotel and resort recommendations?..
Thanks again for your great tour.

Heather
February 2, 2016
Dwight,
Our excursion with you was the highlight of our trip! I’ve been telling all of my friends and co-workers that if they take a vacation in Ocho Rios that they HAVE to book this with you. Thanks so much for an awesome outing!

Chris
January 24, 2016
This was one of our kids favorite excursions. It was always a dream to swim with the Dolphins! Everything went very smoothly & once again Dwight was on top of it! Thank you for making our trip that day a memory forever!

Michele K
December 17, 2015
Dwight did amazing with this trip. There were 19 of us to coordinate and it went great. Our kids enjoyed every aspect of the excursion. An experience of a lifetime and something we will talk about for years to come!

Michele K
December 15, 2015
Our family of four (kids 9 and 7) did the tour package including Dunn’s Falls and river tubing. Our Tour Specialist was Dwight Soares, and he was excellent. The drive from Ochos Rios to Dunn’s Falls was long (about 90 minutes) but Mr. Soares gave us plenty of history and sight-seeing along the way. Along the way he also offered us rest breaks and opportunities to shop at local authentic vendors if we chose. His van was clean and cool, and he was an excellent driver. On the return trip, he allowed us to stop at a local food vendor. The jerk chicken we ordered was EXCELLENT; a real treat. Mr. Soares had us back to the port well in advance of our port departure time. If you are hesitant about using an independent excursion company, don’t be. Mr. Soares and the Karandas Tours company provided us with a wonderful, safe and authentic experience in Jamaica.

Rachel L
September 22, 2015
Hello,
Sorry for the delayed response.
As a group we had a great day, the transport bus was very clean and air conditioned which allowed for a comfortable journey to Dunn’s River Falls. Dwight our driver was very friendly and helpful, stopping off on the way to help us buy water shoes for the attraction and find an ATM! We would definitely use the company again, thank you!
Once again thank you for your custom whilst we were on holiday.
Kind Regards,

Philippa
June 17, 2015

Karandas Tours worked out very well for us. You were easy to locate at the airport, got the van around & bags loaded promptly, and we were on our way to the Grand Palladium in short order!! And on departure day, you were prompt also. Our driver, was very informative and entertaining – although he did drive on the wrong side of the road!! (Come to think about it, everbody else did too!!)Overall, we were very satisfied with Karandas, and will certainly contact you if & when we return to Jamaica.

Thanks!!

Lewis Cole & friends
February 21, 2015

Service was perfect!! Thanks again!!!

Terri
February 15, 2015
It was a pleasure having you show us the island. We will be returning soon and will call you for another tour.
All the best!!

Robert Giarratana
February 9, 2015
Our trip was awesome! Dwight was super friendly and made our trip fun and exciting! Definitely will recommend! Thanks again!

Client
December 24, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful experience in Jamaica! We absolutely enjoyed our ride with you from the port to the tubing sight. You shared so much wonderful information with us and we really appreciated it. We loved our tubing experience down the Rio Bueno. It was made even better by Elvis and Richard! They were amazing and shared so much with us. We wish them well and hope to see them in the future!Thank you again for an awesome day and an opportunity to share your beautiful island!

Maryann Mueller
August 18, 2014
Thank you for a great tour…we had a blast at the Blue Hole Water Falls!

Client
August 9, 2014
Thanks Maureen, you were so kind and helpful! I’ll be sure to leave a positive rating on Trip Advisor. Would you like me reference Karandas Tours or Dwight and Excursions in Jamaica? And a preferred phone number? Blue Hole or general tour companies?Thank you for being so lovely on the phone. You must be a very nice person. 🙂

Cheryl Gordon
August 9, 2014
It was the highlight of our trip. Everything was good.

GBC
May 28, 2014
The driver and the guides were all very nice. My family enjoyed the trip.

Jonathan
March 26, 2014
We were very pleased with our experiences. Your personnel was friendly, helpful and very professional. I would recommend your company to anyone as a safe, enjoyable and reasonably priced experience.

David
January 1, 2014
We would like to thank you very much for our tour! Everyone was so thrilled of the tour day. Everything went very smoothly and it was just an pleasure to be your customer.

TONY POKKINEN
December 4, 2013
We enjoyed our excursion. I wished we would have known how far away the trip was. We might have chose something a little closer to our resort but that is not your fault. I simply didn’t ask. I do apologize that we didn’t tip Dwight when he took us to the Falls. We had full intentions on doing it- not sure what either of us were thinking! Dwight took great care of us and gave us all the information we needed.Thank you very much for the great service.

Jaime
March 26, 2013
Thank you so very much for getting my camera back to me. My family and I really appreciate it. Jamaica was wonderful and that impression was mostly made by you and your company. Thank you again.

Client
March 23, 2013
Just thought I would send you a quick note to thank you for arranging our airport transfers. The driver (forgot his name again) was very attentative, made sure we were comfortable and was always giving us information on our way to the resort and back to the airport. Thank you for making sure we got the same driver by the way and please pass our thank you onto him for looking after us.If we ever return back to Jamaica which we hope will be soon, we would always make sure that we contact you first as the service that your company offered was brilliant, I will also recommend you to all my family and friends. Once again thank you for you service and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Jaspal
March 5, 2013
We loved our tour. Dwight was such an amazing tour guide so accommodating so kind. He had a great attitude and was so knowledgeable about the area. He even took us on a tour of the city to see local accommodations. Thank you karandas tours and thank you Dwight you were amazing.

Sarah Perkins
January 30, 2013
Dwight was our driver. He was excellent. The whole family loved him. The Catamaran was the highlight for our whole Jamaica trip. The DJ, Party Girls, and Crew Members were extremely friendly and knew how to keep the party going. Everyone was dancing and having a fantastic time. Even our 73 year old grandma had a blast on the boat. Thanks for the experience!

Client
December 24, 2012
Our experience was incredible! We enjoyed our excursions thanks to Dwight and our two river rafting guides. If we are ever in Jamaica again, we will definitely use Excursions in Jamaica. We will also recommend your company to all of our friends who travel your way.Thanks for everything!!

Cynde and Richard
December 23, 2012
Hi Dwight! Just wanted to say what an awesome time we had in Jamaica and how great you were!! My mom and her husband will be there this coming week and they want to book the same tour we took. Can she get emailed the voucher and meet up you as driver like we did?

Client
May 17, 2012
We had an amazing time on your tour. Our driver was friendly and helpful. We couldn’t have asked for more.

Kristina
April 28, 2012
Hello Dwight, We had a wonderful time with your tours!. We plan on going back in 2013 with all our children, so we will be looking forward to finding tours that can be accommodating to our young kids! They start at 9 years old and down to 2 yrs. We look forward to seeing you guys again. Thanks a lot

The Sims
April 20, 2012
Dwight…Thank you for working with me on my group last week.

Mona Williamson
April 18, 2012
Our experience was great to and from the airport. We would likely use your service again if we book independently from the travel websites, which we are likely to do as we don’t like waiting for all the other travelers to arrive and fill up the larger busses.Thanks again.

Danielle Meyer
April 14, 2012
Despite the rain and the freeze on our MasterCard it was a good excursion! We were treated well and every attempt was made to make the outing enjoyable.

Client
April 9, 2012
Despite the rain and the freeze on our MasterCard it was a good excursion! We were treated well and every attempt was made to make the outing enjoyable.Thank you.

jennifer speer
April 9, 2012

Our trip out to Dolphin Cove was amazing. We had a fantastic time watching the kids swim with the dolphins. The kids had lots of fun with the birds and snakes. I was a little afraid of them but the trainers were fantastic.As for the service with you guys it was absolutely wonderful. I was a little nervous as this was all new to our family but everything went perfect. Dwight you were our first driver and from the moment you arrived at our resort to the moment you dropped us off we felt safe and at ease. Our driver that picked us up to take us back I am not sure if I am getting the name correct but Uton was fantastic as well. He gave us information about Jamaica, was on time to pick us up as mentioned when we were dropped off. I think we could have used just maybe 1 more hour there but there is nothing I can give you to improve it was a wonderful time off the resort.

Thank you

The Tanners
March 24, 2012

We were quite happy with both drivers; I remember only the first driver’s name, Dwight. According to Jamaican driving standards both drivers were cautious and patient. We have forgotten a bag (with documents and all our money!) in Dwight’s car, and he returned to us although it was already quite late at night.The other driver was very patient when our grand daughter puked in the car, and helped us to clean the mess around.

Also, we realized that we will need an earlier pickup from the villa, as we wanted to stop for lunch, and though it was a very short notice, the bus came 20 minutes before the scheduled time.

All in all, we got a great service for a very reasonable price.

Thanks a lot, and be sure that we will choose you again for our next Jamaican vacation.

Izik Vaxman
February 26, 2012

I can’t say enough about how great Karandas was. We went from Kingston to Ochos Rios which is about a 2 hour ride and both ways our driver was fantastic. When we arrived our driver Dwight was there waiting for us and being in an unfamiliar country it was very comforting seeing my name on a plaque as soon as we exited the airport. Dwight was great!!! He pointed out sights and was very informative.Since we arrived at 6am we were very tired so my girlfriend and I fell asleep for a portion of the ride and Dwight turned the radio down so we could rest. He was awesome and got us there safe and sound and gave us a little history of Jamaica. When I realized at 2PM the day of our departure (was to be picked up at 330PM) that I had given the booking agent the wrong date I called you guys in a panic and whoever I spoke with (it was a women) graciously calmed me down and assured us we could be accommodated. I was extremely pleased and can’t say how grateful I was and still am you remedied the situation despite it being my mistake.

Willie took us back to Kingston and he was great as well!!! We were awake for that whole ride and he talked with us, pointed out sights, and was very informative too. I gave you guys a glowing write-up on Trip Advisor in my review of my trip. I mentioned you by name and how happy we were with your service.

Your prices were the best and the service was top notch. Again I want to thank you for accommodating us after I realized I gave you the wrong date of departure and also for your level of professionalism. I have recommended you to friends who will going to Jamaica in a few months and they told me they would be using you. Again, Karandas Tours is by far the best Airport Transfer/Tour company I have ever used and I am very glad I booked with you guys. When we come back next year we will absolutely be using you again. Thanks!!

From an extremely satisfied customer.

Kevin
February 24, 2012

I just wanted to share with you about the wonderful tour company that you run.. My husband myself and our son appreciate everything you did to make us feel comfortable. It was a very professional business that you run and we are VERY satisfied. We enjoyed meeting your son. He is wonderful. We miss him already. Your other driver that brought us back to the ship was great. Our son enjoyed exchanging riddles with him. We arrived to our ship in plenty enough time before departing. Thank you again so very much.I would like to share with you after arriving home this past Sunday we missed you so much that I am coming back with my friend for her birthday. We would like to experience your services again. It would be great to see your son again. Our ship is Carnival Conquest again. We should arrive Montego Bay again on April 18th arrivng port at 9:00 us time. Could you please send me your web site or could we just possibly just do the river tube trip then a little shopping or just back to the ship.

If you have a price for your repeat customers please let me know. We will be visiting again in the summer as well I look forward to hearing from you

Sonia Comboy
February 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time on our adventure, and Dwight was a large part of that. He went out of his way to accommodate us, fulfilled every extra request we had by taking us to eat then to go shopping. He was such a joy to be around and we considered him a part of our group! I would highly recommend your service to friends and family, and hope to get to use you again…and I will request that Dwight be our guide again!!Thank you for helping to make our vacation a memorable one!

Lori Standridge
February 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour involving the bobsledding, ziplining, and Dunn’s River Falls excursions, and we thank you for your hospitality, friendliness, and overall wonderful experience in Jamaica!!My sister (Rebecca Greathouse) in PA had recommended your company to me, and I will certainly recommend you to others as well. Your company is professional and dependable, and we appreciated the opportunity to be able to customize the day’s activities.

We also appreciate you going the extra mile to accommodate our requests!

Thanks very much!!

Ron Harman
January 31, 2012

Our tour was everything we expected it to be and our driver was delightful! I will recommend this to friends going to Ocho Rios! If you will send me a business card I will keep it for future reference.

Kathy Jones
January 26, 2012
Hi there! We had a great experience. Our driver was very polite and right on time at the terminal picking us up as well as at the end of the river raft ride. We would definitely consider your tour options on our next trip to Jamaica! Thank you!!

Sue Sloan
January 26, 2012

My wife Amy and I, along with my In-Laws had utilities your company’s services on January 25th, 2012. To start off, when we planned this excursion with our cruise we forgot to add the one hour time difference from the ship’s time. When we arrived at Falmouth, we were met by our guide and driver, Dwight who waited for our ship, Voyager of the Seas.Dwight was extremely nice and an outstanding representative of Jamaica. We not only enjoyed his good sense of humor, but his knowledge of Jamaica and his willingness to share that with us. Dwight was a very careful driver and at no time did we feel like he put our lives in jeopardy while he drove use from Falmouth to the Appleton Rum Estate.

Once at Appleton, my Mother-In-Law was concerned about Dwight waiting for us while we were taking the tour of the facilities. Dwight not only reassured her that he would wait, but offered to go through the tour with us, to reassure her that he would not leave. While he was walking with us at Appleton, I had a wonderful conversation with Dwight about your beautiful country

We ended up having to cut the tour shot because of our limited time in country. Dwight was very attentive to our time constraint and safely brought us back to the Pier at Falmouth in plenty of time.

It should be brought to your attention that I never told Dwight that I am a police officer in the United States. He should be highly commended about his safe driving, especially while on your back country roads, which are nothing like what we are accustom too in the United States. My family was extremely impressed with Dwight! He is an outstanding representative of Jamaica and your company, so much so that my In-Laws are planning on returning for an extended vacation stay in Jamaica.

You should be very proud to have Dwight working for your company and as a representative of Jamaica. We did find “Irie Mon” during our visit!

Gerrod & Amy Martin
January 25, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful tour in Jamaica. The driver was great and the two tour guides we had for kayaking where fantastic. We where the last tour so we had the river and the guides to ourselves. They where great at getting us back on time and the price for the tour was just right. I am a travel agent and will highly recommend your company. I will also put a review on trip advisor. We are looking forward to coming and staying awhile next time. Thanks again!

Aubree Kocherhans
January 25, 2012
Our family was so pleased and so very impressed with Karandas Tours. We were in capable hands at all times. Dwight our driver, is the best, and I can’t say enough about what a kind, friendly, not pushy, all around awesome man he is. We certainly recommend Karandas Tours to others. Thanks!!

Client
January 8, 2012
We really enjoyed our tour with you. The driver was very friendly and engaged. He was very informative and made us feel very comfortable. The people at the zip line were very encouraging to both my wife and I and helped us successfully get out of our comfort zone and take in the excitement of doing all of the zip lines. Everyone was very professional and very supportive. We would recommend your tours to anyone going to Jamaica.

Tom Franks
December 7, 2011
Hello friends, We’re just dropping a line to let you know that we all arrived home safely. We REALLY enjoyed our Dunn’s Falls and river tubing excursion. We especially enjoyed meeting our brother, Dwight. If you are ever in southern California, feel free to look us up. There’s always room for our brothers. Until we meet again.

Agape, Bill and Sharon
November 30, 2011
Our experience with the driver was top notch. We have no complaints. The directions that were given to us prior were very clear. We would definitely choose this company again for excursions in Jamaica. Had a great time on the river, only wish it lasted longer!

Client
November 23, 2011
We had a great time. Our driver has fantastic. I do not remember his name but he was funny and we really enjoyed it.

Client
November 17, 2011
Our tour was FANTASTIC!! Everyone in our group had an amazing time. Our driver Dwight was great. Very entertaining, informational and accomodating to our wishes. I would definitely recommend your company for any excursion. Thank you so much for all of your assistance in getting this great experience booked!!!!Can’t wait until my next visit to your beautiful country.

Nanci and group!!
November 12, 2011
Excellent tour and excellent driver! Thank you for letting us join at the last minute!

Client
November 12, 2011
It was a pleasure having you show us the island. We will be returning soon and will call you for another tour.

Robert
October 21, 2011
We had a great time at Dunn’s River and in town. Our driver Dwight was awesome and your prices were the best .Thank you and if I’m ever back in Ochee we will use your company again.

Client
October 19, 2011

Our driver did a great job, especially given that he had to trade vans because of another breaking down. Despite that situation, he was on time when we finished with the tubing and exactly on time when being picked up from Mahogany beach. He even offered to drop us at M-ville or shopping, but we declined (I assumed that was only for cruise passengers and then they would walk back to the pier, and we were staying at the Jewel). Our guide on the river was fun, singing, answering our questions and very personable. I think both of them were named Dwight, too.We purchased through you instead of at the Jewel because your price was much better. We will definitely use you in the future when we return in May 2012 on a cruise, depending on what the rest of our party decides to do – if you offer the excursion they want (our 2 adult children and my daughter’s boyfriend)

Thanks again for all your communication and being part of a memorable trip.

Jann Brown
October 17, 2011